Posted by: jtccitaly | May 29, 2011

Bond. Jane Bond.

Beth and I wore our urban combat pants today and that was a good thing! We almost had to do combat with our grumpy bus driver but we managed to work things out. We also have a mix up with the itinerary but I’m hoping to fix it with the travel agent tomorrow. Other than that, the trip to Florence was fairly uneventful (no 9 hour trip this time, we were in Florence around noon).

We have appointed Jessica and Terri as security for this trip. They have twice proved themselves to be very tough gals not to be messed with. Once in Rome, some guy tried to grab their bag and they basically grabbed him back and yelled until he let go. Then today, they were in the room where our bags were being stored in the hotel and some guy tried to get in and they blocked the door and told him to leave. You go, girls! Check out the photo of our new security force (and see if you get the reference.) You can also check out the picture of Christine and Andrew sporting their urban crocs (to go with our urban ops pants).

Once we got to the hotel, we did an orienting walk through Florence to the Duomo, Piazza dei Signori, Ponte Vecchio, and Santa Croce. There are some pictures of each location in the slideshow. We split up for some lunch and wandering and we will be meeting up soon for a group dinner near Santa Croce.

Florence is beautiful. It’s definitely a pretty big city, but very different from Rome. It’s incredibly pedestrian friendly and just a lovely place. I’m going to upload a quick slideshow if the computer cooperates. Just as a head’s up – the internet here at our hotel is not working well so far (and it’s ridiculously expensive). I keep getting kicked off so the blogs over the next few days may be shorter. I’ll still get on, but if it takes me forever to get a connection, I may not be able to post as much. I’ll look around for an internet café.

I hope you enjoy the second installment of David Corona’s food diaries. I’m trying to get some of the students to post to the blog this week as well, but with the internet situation, that may not happen. I’ll do what I can to keep this lively.

Now it’s time for dinner and I sure don’t want to miss that! :)

Kerrigan

PS – Parents reading this, please don’t worry about the safety of your children! It’s really not the urban jungle it might appear after reading this blog. It’s very safe and we are always together. Besides, with Terri and Jessica around, I think the pickpockets are the ones who should be worried.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Responses

  1. Great photos and blog! I forgot to ask, did anyone “wive it wealthily in Padua”?? Florence is an awesome cilty, and I must return. Sandy

    • Ha! No wives to speak of, wealthy or otherwise . . .

  2. Great pics….you did it , again! LOL

  3. Why does this not surprise me at all! I guess all those years of practice beating on me has finally paid off.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

