Posted by: jtccitaly | May 24, 2011

We Saw Dead People

To continue our theme – today we walked, we saw, we walked some more! And once again, I had a quite lovely but quite long dinner (I think I’m just going to have to adjust my dinner clock to the three hour dinner) and once again, I am just plum worn out.

Sarcophagus at Ostia Antica

I think Beth is going to write about our day today in some more detail so I’m just going to give you the three sentence version and a bunch of pictures! I’ll try to upload more details tomorrow sometime. (We will be on the bus for most of the day tomorrow, so that might not happen. We’re off to wive it wealthily in Padua.Sorry, I’m prone to quoting lyrics. That’s from Kiss me Kate if you are wondering. Great song. Look it up.  We’re off to Padua at least; the wiving part – probably not.)

Beth, the Tomb Raider. Note the Urban Ops pants. She blends right into that stone.

Back to today – we went to Ostia Antica, which is an ancient port city, similar to Pompeii (except not half as dramatic in terms of its demise.) It’s an amazing place and you can just walk around all the ruins (some of them quite intact) and imagine what life would have been like.

The traveling pants (in combat ready camo today) take on Tragedy and Comedy at the theatre

From there, 15 brave and intrepid travelers continued on to visit the Catacombs! It was dark and cold and pretty spooky even with the lights on. Personally, it was one of my favorite places so far. I learned a lot and you can’t beat the atmosphere. No pictures are allowed in the catacombs so you’ll just have to go and see them for yourself!

Mimicking the masks

The Theatre at Ostia Antica (I had to put this one in!)

Once again, we left the hotel early (9AM) and didn’t return (or sit down for more than a few minutes) until close to 6PM. Then quick class meetings, yummy dinner and now (hopefully) bed.

Mother and daughter art time!

That was more than three sentences, but still it was very brief for me. I’m going to let the pictures do most of the talking!

Beth talking about Fresco al fresco!

Thanks again for all the comments – it does encourage me to post even when I’m beat. Tune in tomorrow to see more of our now combat ready traveling pants (see photo) – operation Padova Thunder commences at 07:00.

Amazing ancient restaurant ruins

Picnic at Ostia

Jessica does yoga in the train station! (A girl after my own heart.)

On the crowded Metro (nice face, Andrew!)

The Appian Way (ancient Roman road)

Along the Appian Way (passing an awesome tomb)

The "Catacombers" Those brave enough to not only continue walking for another full day but also to visit the catacombs!

I’ll leave you with one last thing. The quote of the night (said by Lynda Cooksey) “I’m like a camel. I have to replenish my hump.” Right Lynda. (I’ll have what she’s having.)

Ciao for now!

Responses

  1. I love the Theatre picture! Have fun and continue posting your interesting comments, good nite!

  2. Catacombs…you make it sound so awful. I’ve seen Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade about 20 times…did the catacomb look anything like THOSE Italian catacombs? Rats? Snakes? MUMMIES!?!

    • The catacombs were really cool. I didn’t see any rats or snakes but I think there may have been a few mummies around . . .
      K

  3. i love the pictures! but the catacombs yick! ps.was there any rats?

    • No rats – at least not that I could see. It was pretty spooky!

  4. Hey, let us in on the three hour dinners! Love the action shots, but food makes for great photos, too! Do Italian hotels have those wonderful heated towel racks that you find in Britain?

    • David Corona has been tasked with coming up with food stuff to add to the blog, so we’ll be sharing some of that very soon!

      • FOOD STUFF PLEASE! Especially anchovies (I am not kidding…I love anchovies and tell my kids they are actually Fish-Bacon.)

      • Hmmm, I wonder if that would work with my kids . . . check out David’s post on food in Rome!

    • PS – No heated towel racks yet, I’ll let you know!
      K

  5. By the way–I was drinking water–that why the analogy to the camel–they store the water in their humps–

  6. 3 hour dinners??? Why so short? My Italian has introduced me to this custom and our dinners are at least from 4 to 5 hours. (Thus you can see how I have come honestly to my “size”.) On another note, the Italian relatives are due here in Virginia any minute for another graduation weekend in our household. So you ask – how have I learned to endure these wonderful dinners? Well, the vino of course!

    • It’s really more like 4 hours – it’s great! I just get tired once I sit down and stop moving! Keep drinking that vino!


Leave a Reply

Categories

