Posted by: jtccitaly | May 25, 2011

The Incredible Journey

Oh golly, this is going to be a short one! We spent most of the day today on the bus traveling from Rome to Padua with a short stop in Assisi. Assisi is absolutely gorgeous – a quintessential Italian hill town – and I promise to try to post more on it tomorrow. We estimated the drive to be about 6 hours but it was closer to 9 or 10. By the time we got everyone settled into the hotel and checked out tickets and routes to take for tomorrow’s activities, it was after 11PM and it is currently closer to 1AM! Even though I spent most of the day sitting on the bus, I am still totally exhausted. Maybe it was all that head counting. I think I will be counting people in my sleep tonight.

Anyway, I will post more tomorrow and also I have asked David Corona (our resident foodie) to do some posts on the food of the different regions, and I will try to get the first of those up tomorrow as well. To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow,
Creeps in this petty pace . . . (name that Shakespeare – anyone?)

For now, I’ll post a few pictures and then wish you Buena sera.

Kerrigan

Jonathan joins the sisterhood! Woo-hoo for traveling pants!

Rockin out on the "Fancy Tour" bus!

Walking up the hill to the hill town Assisi!

Enjoying the beautiful view

Streets of Assisi

Did I mention the hills?

Oh look! More hills!

Good advice!

This is where we spent most of the day today! (After all those hills, a well deserved rest).

Responses

  1. It is a tale told by an idiot.
    Full of sound and fury, signifying nothing.

    Turn out, out, that brief candle/ light you are using to write this! And get yourself to sleep…

    (OK, the last bit I modified..)

    • Hi…even though it was a short post, as always I enjoy reading it and especially the pics, OMG! Lucky me I’m not there, it looks like endless stepping climbing! Have fun Au revoir! Ciao!

      • We’re having a great time, although poor Ingrid has blisters from all the walking. We’ll take good care of her, don’t worry.

      • Thanks! I speak to her a min ago and she told me is taking care of those blisters, I know she’s in good hands!

    • Are you calling me an idiot? 🙂

  2. Even reading the phrase 9 hours on the bus exhausts me! I love the photo of the Trio of Traveling Pants!!!

  3. Since you are all enjoying the walking, I hope you went to Rocca Maggiore. I strolled up there with a few hardy souls after a day traipsing around Assisi. It was lovely but so was all of Assisi. Glad to hear all is going well. Have fun, see it all and stay exhausted! It is worth it.

  4. I know Sharon is in another country, but she has those same pants. Yikes. Nine hours on a bus——have fun. It’s hot here, 94 today.

    • Sharon is definitely part of the sisterhood! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

